The Education of Lifeguards in the African Continent is following the criteria set up by the African Lifesaving Academy. These criteria are in full compliance with the ILS Education standards.

The National Lifesaving Federation (NLF) has the mission to manage drowning prevention, water safety, water rescue, lifesaving, lifeguarding and lifesaving sport. It has the right, amongst others, to organise local, national and international lifesaving competitions, to participate in international lifesaving competitions, to organise National Lifeguard and other Lifesaving, First Aid and Resuscitation courses and to issue National and International Lifesaving Certificates in the nation.

Organisations that comply with the criteria of ALA

The following National Lifesaving Organisations have agreed to follow the education standards set by the African Lifesaving Academy in their education of Lifeguards:

  • Algeria: Fédération Algérienne de Sauvetage, de Secourisme et des Activités Subaquatiques (FASSAS) – Algerian Federation for Lifesaving, First Aid and Underwater Activities.
  • Burkina Faso: Lifesaving Federation of Burkina Faso.
  • Cameroon: Fédération Camerounaise de Natation et de Sauvetage – Cameroon Swimming and Lifesaving Federation.
  • Central African Republic:  Fédération Centrafricaine de Sauvetage et de Secourisme (FCSS).
  • Chad: Lifesaving Federation of Chad.
  • Djibouti: Fédération Djiboutienne de Sport Subaquatique et de Sauvetage – Djibouti Diving and Lifesaving Federation.
  • Egypt: Egyptian Diving and Lifesaving Federation (EDLF).
  • Gambia: Gambia Swimming & Aquatic Sport Association (GSASA).
  • Ghana: Ghana Lifesaving and Diving Association (GHALDA).
  • Guinea Bissao: Associaçao de Salvamento Aquatico da Guiné-Bissau (ASAGB) – Guinea Bissau Water Rescue Association (ASAGB).
  • Kenya: Kenia Lifesaving Federation (KLA).
  • Libya: Lifesaving Federation of Libya.
  • Mali: Lifesaving Federation of Mali.
  • Mauritania: Mauritania Lifesaving Organisation.
  • Morocco: Royal Moroccan Lifesaving Federation – Fédération Royale Marocaine de Sauvetage (FRMS).
  • Niger:Fédération Nigérienne de Sauvetage et de Secourisme (FNSS) Federation of Lifesaving and First Aid of the Republic of Niger.
  • Rwanda: Fédération Rwandaise de Sauvetage (FRS) – Rwanda Lifesaving Federation.
  • Senegal: Fédération Sénégalaise de Natation et de Sauvetage (FSNS).
  • Somalia: Somali Lifeguarding Association.
  • Sudan:Sudanese Sea Scouts (SSS).
  • Tanzania: Tanzania Lifesaving Society Togo Association Togolaise de Sauvetage et de Secourisme (ATSS).
  • Togo: Association Togolaise de Sauvetage et de Secourisme (ATSS° – Togo Lifesaving and Rescue Federation.
  • Tunisia: Fédération Tunisienne des Activités Subaquatiques et de Sauvetage Aquatique – Tunisian Federation of Underwater Activities and Aquatic Lifesaving.
  • Uganda:Uganda Lifesaving Federation.

Lifeguard Courses

The NLF organises the following types of lifeguard courses:

  • International Pool Lifeguard Course.
  • International Open Water Lifeguard Course.
  • International Beach Lifeguard Course.
  • International Pool Lifeguard Instructor Course.
  • International Open Water Instructor Course.
  • International Beach Lifeguard Instructor Course.

International Instructors can not only teach Lifeguard courses, they can also teach first aid, resuscitation, oxygen application and AED courses.

Follow the next link to discover the criteria for the lifeguard courses: lifeguard criteria.

Follow the next link to discover the criteria for the lifeguard instructor courses:

Sport related courses: coaching/training and Officials/Referees/Judges

Coaching and Training courses

  • Trainer Level C: Club Trainer.
  • Trainer Level B: Regional and National Trainer.
  • Trainer Level A: International Trainer.

Officials and Referee courses

  • Technical Official Level C: Club Official.
  • Technical Official Level B: Regional and National Official.
  • Technical Official Level A: International Official.

Education Assistance

For educational assistance, please read the below policy and return the form to the ILS Headquarters at: